Skip to main content

Managing Lessons

You can access Manage Lessons from Manage Lessons in the Centre Configuration page.

Create Lesson & Academic Year

The Create Lesson button will allow you to add a single lesson for your school. On this page you can only add the teachers to the lesson.

Each lesson has an Academic Year. This is the year for which the lesson is active. As set names may be reused year-to-year, the Academic Year field allows the system to distinguish between them.

Bulk Add Students to Lessons

The Bulk Add Students to Lessons button will take you to the import page. You can only add students for 1 subject at a time.

  • Download the template CSV file
  • The required fields are:
    • Internal ID or Email: this is the Internal ID or email of the students you are adding. You only need to provide one of these for the student to be matched. Leave the other column blank (do not delete it!)
    • Lesson: this should be the same as the lesson name from the Manage Lessons table
    • Academic Year: this should follow a specific format. It is yyyy-yy (for example: 2026-27)
  • Upload the CSV file
  • Select the subject
  • Press Upload & Update

Editing Lessons

To edit a lesson from the Manage Lessons table. Select the alt text button on that lesson's row.

  • Select Edit Lesson.
  • Edit the lesson details and submit The lesson details have now been updated.

Making Lessons Active and Inactive

Lessons are either marked as Active or Inactive.

Active lessons will appear by default and this state is for current lessons. Inactive lessons will not appear by default. This state hides the Lessons (but they are still viewable by selecting Inactive in the filters on the Manage Lessons table). This is for lessons for previous academic years.

You can use the alt text button to make individual lessons Active/Inactive.

Alternatively, select multiple lessons and select the Actions button that will appear at the top of the table. Select Make Active or Make Inactive to change the state of all selected lessons.

Deleting Lessons

You can use the alt text button or select and Actions button to delete individual or multiple lessons at once. You will get a confirmation dialog when deleting users.

Lessons who are deleted cannot be restored. These changes are permanent, so proceed with caution!

Deleting Lessons will delete all associated practicals and student achievement. Make lessons inactive instead. Only delete lessons if you are happy to delete associated student data with them.